Government

Texas Government

TEKS:

4.13 B

identify and explain the basic functions of the three branches of
government according to the Texas Constitution

4.15 B

explain how individuals can participate voluntarily in civic affairs at
state and local levels through activities such as respectfully holding
public officials to their word, writing letters and participating in
historic preservation and service projects

4.15C

explain the duty of the individual in state and local elections such
as being informed and voting

4.15E

explain how to contact elected and appointed leaders in state and
local governments

Social Studies Objective:  We can identify the branches of the Texas government at the state level.


Proof: We can prove our objective by saying a branch and one thing about the branch as we leave.


Materials: If you want a copy to edit to add your own representatives, just send me an email.

I added a video and a handout that I made during the Pandemic. I’m not sure how I will use these in the future, but I may put them in a center like some of my other videos.

Texas Government Video


Vocabulary: state, legislative, executive, judicial, governor, lieutenant governor


Questions: Ask students to share what they remember about the three federal branches yesterday with their partners.  Then share out with the class using the cold call sticks.  How is each level the same?  How is each level different?  


Lesson: Review the branches from yesterday using the questions above. Use the power point to explain how those branches work in Texas. I also explain that while we also have a bicameral legislature, it is not required. Nebraska is the only state with a unicameral legislature. You can include a short review of prefixes here too! With each branch, I include how important it is that we stay informed about the candidates for each office before voting. I also talk to them about how even though they are little and can’t vote, they have every right to make their opinions known. In fact, some of our state symbols were the ideas of children. I explain the ways they can contact their representatives in the legislative and executive branches.

Leave a comment