Texas Revolution

Teaching the Texas Revolution–The Boy in the Alamo–Chapters 6-10

This post is a continuation of my previous post where I shared my resources, vocabulary, and questions to use with The Boy in the Alamo.

Learn about James Bonham and Juan Seguin:

I use my lesson videos to teach students about these two real people from the book.  See my previous post about how I use these lessons and how to use my videos yourself.

Chapter Six:

Vocabulary:

unconditional

surrender

Questions:

Why is Buck proud that Billy brought the news?
Is it fair that Billy can be outside but not Lupe?  Should either of them be out?
Why is Billy allowed?
Why does Travis say they will never surrender?  Should he have said that?
Real/Not Real:
I remind them that Lupe, Billy, Buck are not real.  Davy Crockett, James Bonham, Juan Seguin, and William Travis ARE real.
Learn about Santa Anna:
Again, I take a day to use my lesson video to teach about Santa Anna.
Chapter Seven:
Vocabulary:
Victory or Death
retreat
reinforcements
compatriots
Questions:
Why does Travis write the letter?
Why is the letter so famous do you think?
What are the words of the letter that have the most heart?  What if he had just signed it–Well, I guess we are either gonna win or die?  Would that have the same impact? What is going to happen to the people at the Alamo if they don’t get help???
Real/Not Real:
The letter and William Travis are real.  Since Billy is not real, he did not really make a copy of the letter.
Extra Resource:
I also show my class a copy of the real letter written by Travis that I purchased years before at the Alamo gift shop.  I love to show this because it has two other letters written on the original as well.  As a writing teacher, I love to compare these letters.  We have a conversation about word choice and the importance of learning correct spelling and grammar.  Here is a transcript of all three letters here.
Chapter Eight:
Vocabulary:
scaffolding
Questions:
Why does Bowie not recognize Seguin?
Why does Seguin ask Bowie for his horse and not someone else?
Why does Bowie give Seguin his horse if he doesn’t recognize him?
Chapter Nine:
Vocabulary:
enemy lines
Questions:
Do you think the men from Gonzales knew the trouble they were in?
What do you think about them?
Now that you know what Bonham did, why do you think he is my favorite?
Why do you think Louis Rose told the story of the line in the sand?
Is he a credible witness?
Real:  The Gonzales volunteers were real.  James Bonham was real and did come back to the Alamo.  Louis (Moses) Rose was real.  The line in the sand…maybe not real.  We don’t know.  We do know Ben Milam drew a line in the sand at the Siege of Bexar.  Here is more information for you as the teacher.  We have had some interesting discussions on this topic in class.
Washington-On-The-Brazos:
Before reading chapter ten, I use my lesson video to teach students about the events at Washington-On-The-Brazos.  This covers the following TEKS:
identify the purposes and explain the importance of the Texas Declaration of Independence [4.13A]  I am not satifisfied totally with this lesson.  I hope to write some STAAR passages to include the contributions of Ruiz and Navarro.  One day maybe!!
Chapter Ten:
Vocabulary:
deguello
Questions:
What do you think about the deguello?
What does Billy do that is brave?
What does Lupe do that is brave?
Real/Not Real: The women and children really were in the chapel for for safety.  The deguello was real.  Billy and Lupe are NOT.
Extra Resources:
The deguello—

Leave a comment