Map Skills

Map Legends

** This post has been edited to add resources for online only students.  Since I will be trying to teach my in-person students how to use various technology, I am going to have them do the same thing. You can see my original in-person lesson below.

On-line lesson:

Model how to use the Google Doc master sheet for this objective.  We are using Schoology this year, so I will be embedding this document as a page.  Then, I will create hyperlinks to the various assignments.  In this way, my students can easily navigate assignments using this master sheet.

Here are links to the documents I am using.

Map Legend Master Sheet–Make Your Own Copy

Map Legend Instructions

Mastery Check –Make Your Own Copy

TEKS:

apply mapping elements, including grid systems, legends, symbols, scales, and compass roses, to create and interpret maps.[4.20A]

interpret geographic data, population distribution, and natural resources into a variety of formats such as graphs and maps [4.20B]

 Texas History Objective:       We can read and create map legends.  

Proof:  We can prove we met our objective by creating a map legend that contains at least 4 symbols (one that uses color).   

Materials:  Old atlas (maybe 2-3)

I make sure that whatever atlas we use has a wide variety of map types (population, climate, cultural maps, etc.)

Explore: 

Show students various map legends on the overhead. Ask:  

What do the legends have in common?

What is different about some of the legends?

 

Explain:

Why is it important to look at the legend of each map?

Why would it be hard to use a map without a legend?

Elaborate:

Give students white paper, pencils, crayons, and map pencils.  Give them a map without a legend.  Ask them to add a legend to the map. 

Evaluate: 

 Did your legend contain at least 4 symbols?

Did use color on at least one symbol? 

Does your legend help people understand the map?

Note about Materials: I do not have these materials to share with you.  I was super lazy.  I just picked up a set of old Atlases and cut them apart.  I just found some simple maps and cut off the legends.  I know, not Pinterest worthy, but it was quick!  Our book room literally had about 100 unused Atlases from about 1999.  If you are not that lucky, just print off some maps from the internet and cut the legend off. 

Writing Connection:

This lesson usually happens either the same day or the same week that we talk about audience and word choice in writing.  My students know the word map key, but the word map legend is new to them.  We talk about why they might need to know both words, including how sometimes they just want to impress the person they are talking to with a bigger word.

 

Leave a comment